, , , ,

Alejandro G. Inarittu Wins: See Full List Of Directors Guild Of America Awards Winners


As expected, Alejandro G. Inarritu has won the 68th Directors Guild of America award for the top feature film of 2015. He won for his highly-rated movie, The Revenant making it the second year in a row the Mexican will win the trophy after Birdman earned him a win last year.

A glance at the records shows that Inarritu is almost nailed-on for this month’s Oscar win. Since 1948, only seven DGA winners failed to go on to win the Oscar for best director.

Other winners on the night include Matthew Heineman, Chris Addison, Kenny Ortega and Alex Garland.

See the full list of nominees and winners below. Winners are written in bold.

Image result for Directors Guild of America (DGA)


Feature Film

Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu – The Revenant  WINNER

Tom McCarthy – Spotlight

Adam McKay – The Big Short

George Miller – Mad Max: Fury Road

Ridley Scott – The Martian



Jimmy Chin and Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi — Meru

Liz Garbus – What Happened, Miss Simone?

Alex Gibney – Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief

Matthew Heineman – Cartel Land  WINNER

Asif Kapadia – Amy


First-Time Feature Film Director

Fernando Coimbra – A Wolf at the Door

Joel Edgerton – The Gift

Alex Garland – Ex Machina  – WINNER

Marielle Heller – The Diary of a Teenage Girl

Laszlo Nemes – Son of Saul


Dramatic Series

Michael Engler – Downton Abbey, Episode 8

Leslie Linka Glatter – Homeland, The Tradition of Hospitality

David Nutter – Game of Thrones, Mother’s Mercy  WINNER

Steven Soderbergh – The Knick, Williams and Walker

Matthew Weiner – Mad Men, Person to Person


Comedy Series

Chris Addison – Veep, Election Night   WINNER

Louis C.K. – Louie, Sleepover

Mike Judge – Silicon Valley, Binding Arbitration

Gail Mancuso – Modern Family, White Christmas

Jill Soloway – Transparent, Kino Hora


Movies for TV and Miniseries

Angela Bassett – Whitney

Laurie Collyer – The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe

Paul Haggis – Show Me a Hero

Kenny Leon, Matthew Diamond – The Wiz Live!

Dee Rees – Bessie  WINNER


Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming

Paul G. Casey – Real Time with Bill Maher, #1334

Dave Diomedi – The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, episode #325

Don Roy King – Saturday Night Live, Host: Tracy Morgan/Musical Guest: Demi Lovato 

Ryan McFaul and Amy Schumer – Inside Amy Schumer, 12 Angry Men

Chuck O’Neil – The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, Episode #20142


Variety/Talk/News/Sports  — Specials

Sofia Coppola – A Very Murray Christmas

Hamish Hamilton – The 87th Academy Awards

Don Roy King – Saturday Night Live 40th Anniversary Special  WINNER

Beth McCarthy Miller – Adele Live in New York City

Chris Rock – Amy Schumer: Live at the Apollo


Reality Programs

Brady Connell — The Great Christmas Light Fight, Episode 304

Ken Fuchs – Shark Tank, 702

Steve Hryniewicz — Cutthroat Kitchen, Superstar Sabotage Finale: It’s Raining Ramen

Bertram Van Munster – The Amazing Race, Bring the Fun, Baby

Adam Vetri – Steve Austin’s Broken Skull challenge, Gods of War   WINNER


Children’s Programs

Paul Hoen  – Invisible Skull

Joseph Mazzarino – Sesame Street, The Cookie Thief

Kenny Ortega – Descendants – WINNER

Amy Schatz – Saving My Tomorrow, Part 3

Sasie Sealy — Gortimer Gibbon’s Life on Normal Street, Gortimer and the Vengeful Violinist



Juan Cabral, MJZ

Miles Jay, Smuggler

Tom Kuntz, MJZ

Andreas Nilsson, Biscuit Filmworks  – WINNER

Steve Rogers, Biscuit Filmworks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *