, ,

Screenwiter & Author, Kazuo Ishiguro Wins 2017 Nobel Literature Prize

He studied creative writing at the University of East Anglia

Photo: REUTERS/Mike Segar/File Photo

Japanese-born English screenwriter and author Kazuo Ishiguro has been named winner of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature.

According to the Swedish Academy, Ishiguro authored “novels of great emotional force”, which “uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world”. According to the Nobel body, his writings were “marked by a carefully restrained mode of expression, independent of whatever events are taking place”.

Kazuo Ishiguro

In a “list” of frontrunners which included Kenya’s Ngugi Wa Thiong’o and Margaret Atwood, Kazuo Ishiguro’s choice has been greeted with surprise.

Ishiguro has authored novels which include “The Remains of the Day” and “Never Let Me Go“. He studied creative writing at the University of East Anglia. His family moved to Britain when he was five-years-old. He published his first novel, “A Pale View of the Hills”, in 1982.

His screenplays include:

A Profile of Arthur J. Mason (Original Screenplay for Channel 4) (1984)
The Gourmet (Original Screenplay for the BBC; the script was later published in Granta 43) (1987)
The Saddest Music in the World (Original story) (2003)
The White Countess (Original screenplay) (2005)

The Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded 110 times to 114 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *